What inspires you?

Inspiration is a funny thing, don’t you think? Sometimes you just know something has clicked and sometimes it takes a little more pondering. And then of course there’s the matter of using that inspiration as the basis for something creative.

In teaching VCE Studio arts discovering and using inspiration is an important aspect. Students are required to source their own avenues of inspiration and demonstrate in their ideas how they can use that inspiration, but the student who just ‘copies’ or recreates what they have found is a very different type of student to the one who uses their inspiration more conceptually.

I’m not sure I even get it together sometimes. But I know what I love. I know what inspires me to create art. I know what I want my art to say. Most of the time.

As I was looking through my iPhone photos recently I discovered a number of pictures that made me stop for a moment and consider how I could use them in the future.

IMG_6079

IMG_5983

IMG_6677

IMG_6396

IMG_6496

IMG_6264

 

I absolutely love these photos. The criss-crossed nature of the lines and circles, the contrasting colours and the cropped compositions. I think I need to get sketching to really develop this inspiration further. I am sure these images will lend themselves to my unique style (at least I think it’s unique!) and my leaning towards abstract expressionism.

I am inspired by colour and shape and repeated patterns. I love it when nature catches my eye and makes me ponder God’s handiwork. Theses are things that I incorporate into my work and makes me want to create. What inspires you to create? What inspires you in the development of your work? JP

Leave a Reply

