Recycled art journal page

This art journal is made up of old artworks that didn’t seem to be working, scrap papers, blotting paper and other such things. The page I decided to work on was originally one of those artworks…I made it using artist ink, oil pastels and liquid pencil. I quite like the resist process between the ink and the pastel.

IMG_4700

IMG_4701

I began this page with a scraping of blue paint using an old iTunes card – I was pleased with the purple hue that came through from the layers of colours.

IMG_4702

Next it was time for some abstract random shapes and brushstrokes using white and magenta acrylic paint. I really love the blending that happens when you don’t quite mix the colours or wash the brush between colours.

IMG_4703

 The circles were made by placing a stencil on the wet-ish paint and rubbing some of the paint off with a baby wipe. This is a fascinating and clever process – you just have to make sure you don’t press too firmly on the stencil otherwise it will stick to your work.

IMG_4705

Time for some collage! These collaged papers are made from paper I used to blot previous paintings.

IMG_4708

And a layer of diluted gesso to tie it all together.

IMG_4710

Finally some writing, hand drawn, some collaged flowers (that I had previously drawn) and a touch of yellow to lighten things up.

IMG_4715

I created a bit of shadow on these flowers by sketching round them with a black charcoal pencil. I also enhanced their colour with pan pastels.

IMG_4709

There you have it – my recent recycled art journal page – Live life to the full! Hope you are, JP

Leave a Reply

