Gelatine plate printing

Just thought I’d give a little insight into my gelatine plate printing. It is such a fun way to print patterns and textures onto paper, newspaper or anything you like really. I really like a paper I found at my local art shop, that is almost like tissue paper but a bit stronger when wet. They called it greaseproof but it’s not like what mum used to wrap our sandwiches in. Much nicer. I think it’s called deli paper in the US.

But I have digressed. So first step is to mix up the gelatine. I used a local brand and followed the instructions. This made a rather thin mixture but it worked ok to print on. Previously I made the mixture with extra gelatine powder. and the plate was quite strong. This meant that I could used it to make more prints than the plate I use to make prints  in the following examples.

2 tablespoons to 500 ml of water

Dissolve 2 tablespoons of gelatine in 100ml of hot water and then add 4ooml of cold water. I found this has to be done fairly slowly otherwise lumps and bubbles form. No matter though…

IMG_6273…a simple sieving removes lumps and…

IMG_6274

 

IMG_6275

 

…a skewer removes the bubbles!

The benefit of a thinner solution means less bubbles in the mixture.

I tried to remove the plate from the disposable tray but it wasn’t a good idea. In the end I cut or tore the paper to fit the tray. I guess that is the benefit of the Gelliarts gel printing plate.

IMG_6277

IMG_6279

I used acrylic paint and a circle stencil to create these patterns – using a roller to roll out the paint on the plate. Each paint rolling prints 2 pages, after that I got ghost prints. These were ok and might be ok for collaged backgrounds – I will let you know.  And I used one of my favourite bits of recycled equipment – bubble wrap!

IMG_6329

IMG_6330

IMG_6328

I got quite a few prints from my plate but at the end it had deteriorated so much that I had to throw it out. I did make two plates, used one and kept one in the fridge for another day. It lasted about 5 days, which I thought was quite good.

 I did use fairly random colours – not happy ones I don’t think but they will be good for generic backgrounds. More about that some other time.

I love gelatine plate printing, can’t wait to do some more! Have you had a go? Would love to see what you’re up to. JP

 

5 thoughts on “Gelatine plate printing

    1. Hi Elaine, you’re not a dummy! I rolled a layer of acrylic paint using a brayer, then laid down a stencil and rolled on some more colour. Before I took a print I lifted off the stencil. Sometimes I pressed bubble wrap into the paint and removed it before pulling a print. All good fun. Are you going to have a go? Hope this helps.

      1. I’d love to try it, just a bit apprehensive. I’m one of those people that likes to see how something is done first and then I’ll go for it. I’ll have to have a browse on Youtube and watch someone working with the gellatine plates. Thanks for your help!

      2. You should go for it! It’s so fun. I think the most difficult thing is being patient with the gelatine. I am going to get me one of those gelli arts gel plates though – that should make the process simpler! Check out Jane Davies blog as she has a video tutorial on the process. Would love to see what you get up to.

Leave a Reply

