New challenges

I’ve had a fair bit of time to think over things as I’ve been recuperating. Some of that thinking has taken the form of working out how I can best improve my own skills and artwork. I have really enjoyed being part of things like iHannah’s post card swap and the Sketchbook challenge 2012. So I set out looking for other ways to challenge myself creatively – most because if I don’t have a goal to work towards I might not do it.

Here’s what I have discovered…

Liberate your art 2012 – postcard swap. Here’s a link to Kat eye studio blog where you will find a delightful blog from Kat Sloma, and all the info regarding the postcard swap. I just get a buzz receiving beautiful artworks from people all over the world.

Icad2 is a two month challenge to be creative with index cards by Daisy Yellow. It just so happened that when my mum cleaned out some left over office stationary from my parent’s business I became the owner of several hundred index cards. You know the type, 3 by 5 inch with blue lines. I knew they would come in handy! Haven’t posted any finished cards yet but will soon. I have made a start though, by painting the first weeks with gesso and deciding on a theme. My kids are also joining in this one – they might let me post some pictures too! You can click on the image in the side bar for a link to all the info for this one.

Creative everyday is a lovely way to be inspired and encouraged. You can join in at your own pace and there are even prompts given on a regular basis to get you challenged to try new ideas. I haven’t posted anything yet – been slightly out of action- but stay tuned!

Let me know if you decide to join me in any of these challenges. I would love to see what you get up to. JP

Leave a Reply

